Minister McHugh announces patronage of six new post-primary schools to be established in 2020

Dec 17, 2019

The Minister for Education and Skills Joe McHugh T.D. today announced the patronage of the six new post-primary schools to be established in 2020.

In all cases, the Minister accepted the recommendations of the New Schools Establishment Group (NSEG).

Today’s announcement forms an essential part of plans to ensure that sufficient new school places are available to cater for the growing numbers of pupils at post-primary level over the coming years.

The new post-primary schools being established in September 2020 were announced last year as part of the Government’s commitment to invest heavily in education with 44 new schools to be established between 2019 and 2022 to cater for demographic growth.

The Minister said: “Parental preference is a key determinant in deciding the patronage of new schools and I’m pleased to say that the views of parents as expressed through the process are reflected in the decisions made on the patronage of these six new schools.”

The six new post-primary schools to be established in 2020 will provide significant additional places in the areas they will serve and between them will have capacity to cater for 5,000 post-primary students when fully developed.


Area School Planning Area Patronage Awarded Language of Instruction School Size*
Dublin 15 Blanchardstown_West D15 & BlanchardstownVge_D15 Dublin and Dún Laoghaire Education and Training Board (DDLETB) English 800
Citywest/ Saggart Tallaght & Newcastle_Rathcoole Dublin and Dún Laoghaire Education and Training Board (DDLETB) English 1,000
Harold’s Cross Dublin6_Clonskeagh & Dublin_6W Educate Together English 1,000
Goatstown Goatstown_Stillorgan_DLR Educate Together English 800
Enfield Kilcock School Planning Area Louth and Meath Education and Training Board (LMETB) English 500
Wicklow Kilcoole & Greystones Kildare and Wicklow Education and Training Board (KWETB) English 800

*based on current projected need but will be responsive to patronage or demographic demand

The online parental preference processes indicated a minority preference for Irish as the preferred language of instruction. Having regard to the level of preferences for Irish-medium, particularly in the Dublin 6/6W area survey, the Department will engage with patrons of existing Irish-medium gaelcholáistí and the new schools to ensure that this demand is addressed.

The Minister expressed his gratitude to the members of the New Schools Establishment Group for their valuable input to the process which has ensured an objective and transparent process.


Notes for Editors

All of the schools are being established to meet an identified demographic need.

The detailed Assessment Reports for each of the areas concerned are also published on the Department’s website.

Further information is available here: 

What new post-primary schools are being established in 2020?

Blanchardstown_West D15 and BlanchardstownVge_D15 (Regional solution)
Dublin6_Clonskeagh & Dublin_6W (Regional solution)
Citywest/Saggart (Tallaght & Newcastle_Rathcoole school planning areas) (Regional Solution)
Enfield (Kilcock school planning area)
Kilcoole & Greystones (Regional solution)

Have sites been secured for the new schools?

Locations have already been secured for three of the six new schools, all of which are subject to planning permission:

Dublin 6, Clonskeagh & Dublin6W – Former Harold’s Cross Greyhound Stadium
Goatstown, Stillorgan, Dun Laoghaire Rathdown – Former Irish Glass Bottle recreation site, Goatstown
Tallaght & Newcastle/Rathcoole – ETB site at Fortunestown Lane

What accommodation will the new schools be established in?

In relation to the new schools announced, the current focus for the Department is to prioritise the schools due to be established in 2020 so that accommodation solutions are put in place as soon as possible. The Department is in the process of appointing a Project Manager to assist with this work and is currently reviewing potential interim accommodation options for the schools. It is expected that the schools will be established in September 2020 in suitable interim accommodation pending delivery of permanent school buildings.

What is a Regional Solution?

A decision to establish a new school can be taken where projected growth in a single school planning area may not warrant provision of a new school but where combined demographic increases in the region indicates sufficient demand for a viable school. These schools, identified as being Regional Solutions, are planned to serve more than one school planning area.

How big will these schools be?

Area School Planning Area School Size*
Dublin 15 Blanchardstown_West_D15 & BlanchardstownVillage_D15 800
Goatstown Goatstown_Stillorgan_Dun Laoghaire Rathdown 800
Enfield Kilcock 500
Citywest/Saggart Tallaght & Newcastle_Rathcoole 1000
Harold’s Cross Dublin 6_Clonskeagh & Dublin6W 1000
Wicklow Kilcoole & Greystones 800

*based on projected need but will be responsive to demographic demand

New Schools Establishment Group

The patronage process for new schools is overseen by the New Schools Establishment Group (NSEG). This independent advisory group was set up in 2011 to advise the Minister on the patronage of new schools following its consideration of a report prepared by the Department on the applications received. Minister McHugh accepted the recommendations of the Group in all cases in respect of the six post-primary schools due to open in September 2020.

The members of the NSEG are:

Mr. Joe Hamill (Chairperson), Retired Secretary General of the Department of Arts,Heritage, Regional, Rural and Gaeltacht Affairs
Professor Gerry Mac Ruairc, Head, School of Education, National University of Ireland Galway
Professor Sarah Moore, Professor of Teaching and Learning, University of Limerick.
Related documents are available at the following link here: Establishing a New School webpage